During the coronavirus lockdown, City of London Sinfonia musicians have been hosting Comfortable Classical at Home on Tuesday and Thursday mornings on City of London Sinfonia’s Facebook page.

In each episode, you can get to know our musicians and enjoy brilliant performances while staying safe at home. One of our musicians hosts a short concert live from their homes, featuring classical music and fun activities for anyone and everyone, from young children to older adults. We also encourage our audiences to get involved during the live episodes by posting a comment or reacting with a ‘like’ or ‘wow’ for our musicians to read aloud or use in improvised compositions.

We are currently taking a break for the summer, after our 33rd episode, but you can still watch previous episodes in our Facebook video playlist.

Previous episodes

Joely, Fiona, Steph, Will and Ursula in Comfortable Classical at Home

We’ve now reached over 30 episodes of Comfortable Classical at Home! There have been so many highlights in our series so far, from fiery introductions to chamber music in a vegetable garden. You can catch up on previous episodes in our Facebook video playlist.

If you are enjoying our series, please consider donating to City of London Sinfonia so we can keep bringing you new, inspiring content during these challenging times and to help us get going with projects and performances as soon as we can.

Episode 33: Thursday 23 July, 11.30am
Joely Koos, Co-Principal Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 32: Tuesday 21 July, 11.30am
Mark Paine, Co-Principal French Horn
View video on Facebook

Episode 31: Thursday 16 July, 11.30am
Kathy Shave, Violin
View video on Facebook

Episode 30: Tuesday 14 July, 11.30am
Rachel van der Tang, Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 29: Thursday 9 July, 11.30am
Ursula Leveaux, Principal Bassoon
View video on Facebook

Episode 28: Tuesday 7 July, 11.30am
Becky Knight, Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 27: Thursday 2 July, 11.30am
Katherine ‘Waffy’ Spencer, Principal Clarinet
Alexandra Wood, Leader
View video on Facebook

Episode 26: Tuesday 30 June, 11.30am
Chris Rawley, Bassoon
Jessie Grimes, Clarinet
View video on Facebook

Episode 25: Thursday 25 June, 11.30am
Matt Maguire, Viola
View video on Facebook

Episode 24: Tuesday 23 June, 11.30am
Dan Bates, Principal Oboe
View video on Facebook

Episode 23: Thursday 18 June, 11.30am
Stephanie Beck, Harp
View video on Facebook

Episode 22: Tuesday 16 June, 11.30am
Joely Koos, Co-Principal Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 21: Thursday 11 June, 11.30am
Fiona McCapra, Violin
View video on Facebook

Episode 20: Tuesday 9 June, 11.30am
Will Schofield, Principal Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 19: Thursday 4 June, 11.30am
Ursula Leveaux, Principal Bassoon
View video on Facebook

Episode 18: Tuesday 2 June, 11.30am
Becky Knight, Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 17: Thursday 21 May, 11.30am
Katherine ‘Waffy’ Spencer, Principal Clarinet
View video on Facebook

Episode 16: Tuesday 19 May, 11.30am
Matt Maguire, Viola
View video on Facebook

Episode 15: Thursday 14 May, 11.30am
Chris Rawley, Bassoon
View video on Facebook

Episode 14: Tuesday 12 May, 11.30am
Alexandra Wood, Leader and Creative Director
View video on Facebook

Episode 13: Thursday 7 May, 11.30am
Elizabeth Bass, Harp
View video on Facebook

Episode 12: Tuesday 5 May, 11.30am
Dan Jenkins, Principal Trombone
View video on Facebook

Episode 11: Thursday 30 April, 11.30am
Ursula Leveaux, Principal Bassoon
View video on Facebook

Episode 10: Tuesday 28 April, 11.30am
Dan Bates, Principal Oboe
Watch video on Facebook

Episode 9: Thursday 23 April, 11.30am
Joely Koos, Co-Principal Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 8: Tuesday 21 April, 11.30am
Karen Jones, Principal Flute
View video on Facebook

Episode 7: Thursday 16 April, 11.30am
Matthew Maguire, Viola
View video on Facebook

Episode 6: Tuesday 14 April, 11.30am
Katherine Spencer, Principal Clarinet
Watch video on Facebook

Episode 5: Thursday 9 April, 11.30am
Rebecca Knight, Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 4: Tuesday 7 April, 11.30am
Daniel Bates, Principal Oboe
View video on Facebook

Episode 3: Thursday 2 April, 11.30am
Alexandra Wood, Leader and Creative Director
View video on Facebook

Episode 2: Tuesday 31 March, 11.30am
Joely Koos, Co-Principal Cello
View video on Facebook

Episode 1: Thursday 26 March, 11.30am
Katherine Spencer, Principal Clarinet
View video on Facebook

View video playlist >>


City of London Sinfonia’s Comfortable Classical relaxed concerts are supported by the Borletti-Buitoni Trust and MariaMarina Foundation.


Be sure to keep up to date with all our activities on Twitter @cityldnsinfonia, and on Facebook and Instagram (@cityoflondonsinfonia). You can also visit our website for information on upcoming events, as well as our wellbeing and education projects.