The Score – Dan Jenkins

We caught up with our Principal Trombone Dan Jenkins, who joined the Orchestra in 2004. He studied at Guildhall School of Music and Drama and also plays in the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Your CLS career to date

I joined CLS in 2004 having worked increasingly with the Orchestra for three or four years before that. I took over from the late great Roger Brenner when he moved from Principal to Second Trombone.

Your most memorable concert?

Particularly memorable concerts include Stravinsky’s Pulcinella in Dublin – such a wonderful piece of music, with a great bombastic trombone solo in it, and a joyful last movement. And secondly, the trip the Orchestra took to Dubai in 2006. I thought it was just past Europe and didn’t realise we were going most of the way to India until we got on the plane! A spectacular show for the Sultan, outdoors in a hot Arabian breeze, with acrobats abseiling down the nearby skyscrapers whilst we played.

Dan_jenkins_web

How do you relax away from CLS?

Cooking is very relaxing and creative. I love playing snooker, and have played hundreds of games over the years.

What would be your choices on Desert Island Discs?

I’m afraid my Desert Island Discs wouldn’t be classical at all; I listen to heavy rock guitar, people like Jo Satriani and Gary Moore!

To read the full version of this interview visit our website.

